Skip to content

Easy DIY pizza

June 30, 2009

Pizza rates pretty high in the cheap/easy department – plus it goes a long way. But making homemade crust and sauce is way too daunting of a task for me. (yeast? no thanks.)

But something about making my own pizza just feels crafty to me, and I love some good craft time.

I was looking for a super cheap, DIY version and a Twitter friend enlightened me to pizza dry dough mix.

This stuff is genius. Mix with water, and presto, it’s done. And me and the boyfriend were both impressed with it’s deliciousness.

Can’t beat the cost:

$0.79 dry dough mix

$1.50 a bottle of pizza sauce (on sale at my grocery store)

$1.89 bag of shredded mozzarella

My toppings of choice:

$0.99 green bell pepper

$2.50 sausage

My topping were the most expensive part – but even those I only used half of for one pizza. I also only used half of my pizza sauce, bringing the grand total of one pizza to $5.18.

My toppings were only $1.75 per pizza.

Just crust, sauce and cheese for $3.43 if you don’t need any toppings.

Why pay anywhere from $10-15 for delivery pizza?

It wasn’t skimpy either, and let me tell you, I can put down some pizza. Me and boyfriend each ate until we were full and I still had enough left over for lunch the next day.

Score!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Your Mom permalink
    June 30, 2009 10:41 pm

    I love the content here, as well as photos and design! I’ll be trying the pizza for sure, it sounds yummy!

    Have fun studying How to Cook Everything!

    Love ya, Mom

  2. Zach permalink
    July 1, 2009 11:40 am

    Tasty indeed :)

Leave a Reply

