Skip to content

Father’s Day treat

June 22, 2009

Spent Dad’s Day at the lake with the man himself and some family. Spent 9 hours in the car this weekend, but the sun and the back porch overlooking the water were just about worth it.

My dad loves chocolate-raspberry anything, so I searched online and decided to make this recipe from bakingbites.com.

From Bakingbites.com

From Bakingbites.com

Does it count as a gift if you get to enjoy it too? I vote yes.

If you consider yourself a chocolate lover you have to try this cake. Super rich but tasty. The recipe called for half oil and half butter, and it turned out super moist and almost more like a brownie. Next time I’ll have to be more careful – my raspberries sunk through the batter to the bottom and stuck to the pan, giving the cake a big fruity tumor.

Chocraspcake

Haha. Oh well, didn’t affect the flavor and that’s what counts, right?

This being a special occasion cake, it wasn’t cheap. Mostly due to the raspberries (frozen are cheaper but still pricey). There were a couple baking supply staples I didn’t have and needed to get – like cocoa powder. But aside from those, everything else you probably have in your pantry.

I had some raspberries left over that I wanted to put to good use, so I made a Bailey’s Raspberries sauce that I also found on Bakingbites.com.

It was super easy and I couldn’t stop eating it. I think I’ll try it on ice cream sometime this week. Yum.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Eric permalink
    June 24, 2009 10:53 am

    You should have named this blog “Big Fruity Tumor”. So funny.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

